2016 Indigenous Ceramic Art Award

2014 ICAA 1st Prize, Bankstown Koori Elders Group, After The Rain Bungle Bungle, 2013 © the artists, photo by Jamie Durrant.

The Indigenous Ceramic Art Award (ICAA) was established under the patronage of acclaimed artist Dr Gloria Thanakupi Fletcher, this Award celebrates and supports the rich and diverse use of the ceramic medium by Indigenous artists and acknowledges the special industry of ceramic art. As an acquisitive award it contributes to the Art Museum's significant holdings of Australian and International ceramic art.

The 2016 shortlisted artists were:

  • Janet Fieldhouse, Torres Strait (QLD)
  • Deanne Gilson, Wadawurrung/ Wathaurung (VIC)
  • Sean Miller, Kamilaroi (NSW)
  • Raymond Young, Gunnai / Yorta Yorta/ Gunditjmara (VIC)
  • Alison Murray, Girramay (QLD)

    Gallery Kaiela Artists (VIC)
  • Jack Anselmi, Yorta Yorta
  • Cynthia Hardie, Yorta Yorta

    Ernbella Women Potters, Pukatja Community – Pitjantjatjara Language (SA)
  • Lynette Lewis
  • Yaritji Jack
  • Marissa Thompson
  • Anne Thompson
  • Tjimpuna Williams
  • Janelle Thompson
  • Rachael Mipantjiti Lionel
  • Alison Milyika Carroll
  • Carlene Thompson

The ICAA is developed in partnership with the Sir Andrew and Lady Fairley Foundation, Margaret Lawrence Bequest and Mr Allan Myers AO QC and is generously supported by Fairer Futures Fund / Australian Communities Foundation.