2018 Indigenous Ceramic Award

SAM is pleased to announce that applications for the 2018 Indigenous Ceramic Award (ICA) are now open.

As a $20,000 acquisitive prize, the 2018 ICA is open to Australian Indigenous groups and individual artists to propose an exhibition concept to be realised at SAM. Eight shortlisted groups or artists will be supported with an exhibition development fee of $2,200 each to produce new work from March to July. The exhibition will be presented at SAM from 25 August to 11 November 2018.

The Award will be judged by Stephen Gilchrist, Associate Lecturer of Indigenous Art at the University of Sydney; Genevieve Grieves, freelance curator, educator and consultant; and Dr Rebecca Coates, Director of SAM, and announced at the exhibition opening on Saturday 25 August 2018.

The 2018 ICA is the sixth in the series of this biennial Award, showcasing new and exciting developments in the field. It contributes to the Art Museum’s significant holdings of Indigenous ceramic art, and provides cultural exchange opportunities for Indigenous artists from around Australia and within regional Victoria.

The ICA was established under the patronage of acclaimed artist Dr Gloria Thanakupi Fletcher in 2007. As the Award is increasingly recognised as one of Australia’s significant Indigenous cultural opportunities, there has been increasing interest and participation in the Award from solo artists and collectives in both remote communities and urban centres since its first iteration.

Major Partners of the 2018 ICA include Sir Andrew and Lady Fairley Foundation and Mr Allan Myers AO QC.

Important Dates:

Applications open

Monday 15 January 2018

Applications close

Monday 5 March 2018

Artists advised of selection

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Due date for delivery of artworks to SAM

Monday 23 July 2018

Announcement and official opening

Saturday 25 August 2018

Exhibition dates

25 August to 11 November 2018

All expressions of interest for the Award are to be submitted online, or via post, and received by 5 March 2018, 5pm (Eastern Daylight Savings Time).